Musings from the Mosh Pit…

Thoughts. Tales. Travels. Whatever.

Morrissey live in Manila May 20, 2012

I know it’s over, still I cling…

Sure, I wrote down “See Morrissey live” in my bucket list but to be quite honest, it was one of those things that I doubt would ever happen.  Last sunday, May 13, I got to cross that off the list.  It really was a dream come true.  The best concert I’ve ever been to…and dare I say it, the best concert I’ll ever see.  I’m sure that those of us who love Morrissey do so for various reasons.  Many of us have waited years for this moment.  Truly, the man did not disappoint.  There have been many articles recently in the local papers written by fellow fans sharing their experience of that day.  And I, like them, would like to say the same thing: Thank you, Morrissey.  Thank you for being you and thank you for your songs.  They make me feel so loved.

What goes through your mind when you hear an audience sing along to the darker stuff?

Morrissey: I’m absolutely electrified. Because I live alone with those songs, and they came from the absolute edge of the emotional cliff. When a crowd sings something that really means something…for me it’s stirring. Well, it’s not stirring, no. There are no words. It’s just getting it out. And even if it’s only just for that moment when you’re in the audience on that night, you’re not alone. (2004)

If you’d like to see some beautiful photos from the concert, you can visit splintr.com , philippineconcerts.com , and the Morrissey live in Manila facebook page.

 

Leave a Reply

