Musings from the Mosh Pit…

Thoughts. Tales. Travels. Whatever.

It’s my wedding…let’s rock! January 26, 2011

Previously I’ve mentioned that I’ve been asked by a good friend to be her Maid of Honor for her upcoming April wedding.  This reminded me of a list which I’ve been trying to put together for some time now–my wedding playlist!  I’ve attended many-a-wedding and even if the bride picks the usual list of love songs, I really don’t mind.  To each his own.  I may have heard those same songs countless of times but if it means something to the couple, then it’s all good.

One of my best friends married her wonderful hubby in Boracay in 2006 and I was one of her bridesmaids.  Due to a late flight, another friend and I weren’t able to attend the wedding rehearsals.  When we arrived at dinner time for the Despedida de Soltera, they were all raving about her wedding song…the one that would be played when she enters the church.  Nobody wanted to tell us what it was and we (the other friend who took the same flight with me) had to wait until the actual ceremony to find out what it was.  It was Eva Cassidy’s version of Sting’s “Fields of Gold”, which was so beautiful it made me cry!  And that was it…that was the moment when I started to seriously think about what songs I would like to hear on my wedding day.

Of course I’m a rock fan (even though I may not look the part) so most of my inspiration comes from the bands/artists that I love.  So kindly indulge me now as I share with you my wedding playlist.  This is still a work in progress because I’d also like to use the usual love songs and even love songs sung in the local language…heck, I’m also a kpop fan and I’d be willing to use one of the songs from the dramas that I’ve watched as well…but until the big event, here’s what I’ve got so far:

  • Once In A Blue Moon – Sydney Forest (this is what I want played when I enter the church)
  • Chasing Cars – Snow Patrol
  • Just Say Yes – Snow Patrol
  • All I Want Is You – U2 (the first dance…and with fireworks!)
  • This Is The One – The Stone Roses (I’m glad I watched “Eagle vs. Shark”)
  • Love Remains The Same – Gavin Rossdale
  • With or Without You – U2
  • This Never Happened Before – Paul McCartney
  • Yellow – Coldplay
  • Blower’s Daughter – Damien Rice
  • Your Song – Elton John
  • Stellar – Incubus
  • Wonderful Tonight – Eric Clapton
  • The Wild Ones – Suede
  • Lucky – Bif Naked
  • The Only Exception – Paramore (I’m not a huge fan, but I love the lyrics of this song)
  • Your Guardian Angel – Red Jumpsuit Apparatus
  • Ready For A Fall – PJ Olsson
  • Crash Into Me – Dave Matthews Band
  • Feels Like Home – Chantal Kreviazuk
  • Woman – John Lennon
  • Love Me Tender – Elvis Presley
  • Can’t Help Falling In Love – Elvis Presley
  • You and Me – Lifehouse (Thanks to Ginny for introducing this song!)
  • Now My Heart Is Full – Morrissey
  • There Is A Light That Never Goes Out – The Smiths
  • Slipping Through My Fingers – I liked the Merryl Streep version in Mamma Mia…this isn’t for me…it’s more for my mother. I’d like her to have some part in the event. Come to think of it…yes, to some degree, I guess it’s also for me.

So that’s it so far…hmm… does it seem long already?

Before I go, let me leave you with a quote from Chris Martin of Coldplay talking about the song “The Scientist”:

“That’s just about girls. It’s weird that whatever else is on your mind, whether it’s the downfall of global economics or terrible environmental troubles, the thing that always gets you most is when you fancy someone.”

note: photos not my property

 

4 Responses to “It’s my wedding…let’s rock!”

  1. ulacakes Says:

    Love you fizz!!! I was so happy to have you as my bridesmaid!!! You guys made it even more memorable!! I don’t even remember that you guys weren’t there for the rehearsals!! it was such a blur! I hope you guys had fun on the wedding day just as I had! 🙂

  2. ulacakes Says:

    btw.. I don’t know half of the songs.. makes me want to download em all! 🙂

    • fizzywoohoo Says:

      Ula the Biff Naked one is from the OST of Buffy…argh! Super ganda! And yes…I love all of them! Look for the ending of “Eagle Vs.Shark” as well…perfect yung song! Actually, magandang indie movie din sha…it’s about these two weird people who find each other haha.

  3. lanilakwatsera Says:

    Fizz, your song list is one of the coolest song list I’ve seen. Super props to “Stellar” — you do know that it’s my fave Incubus song.

    Wow, I am already looking forward to that wedding. Super rock and roll!


Leave a Reply

