Musings from the Mosh Pit…

Thoughts. Tales. Travels. Whatever.

So spook me! November 9, 2010

Filed under: as seen on tv,tales — fizzywoohoo @ 9:39 am

“When there’s something strange in your neighborhood, who you gonna call?”

Definitely not me.

Of all the genres out there, horror would surely be the one which I rarely watch.  As a kid, sure I watched all the classics: The Amityville Horror, The Poltergeist, The Shining, The Exorcist, The Omen, an episode or two of Nightmare on Elm Street, Pet Sematary, Night of the Living Dead (remake), IT and Jaws (though the last one I’m not sure if it’s strictly considered horror or suspense).  Locally there was only 1 movie which truly scared me: Shake, Rattle & Roll 1.  C’mon you Pinoy kids of the 80’s, don’t tell me that human-eating-refrigerator didn’t give you nightmares!  The last scary movie that I remember watching from start to finish (as an adult) was “The Blair Witch Project”.  Though not much relying on the gore, for me it’s still my top scary movie.

Now last friday was the premiere of the series “The Walking Dead”.

This is based on the monthly comic book by writer Robert Kirkman and artists Tony Moore and Charlie Adlard.I immediately recognized the hype surrounding it because of the tons of commercials about it…not to mention the fact that it was simultaneously shown on about 5 cable channels.  I must admit that it piqued my interest.

So friday rolls around and because I couldn’t resist it–even if my conscience was telling me “NO!”–I tuned in at 11pm on Channel [V] to watch it.  In a nutshell, it’s the story of Rick Grimes, a sheriff’s deputy, who at the beginning of the show is seen in a gun fight with 2 escaping criminals.  He gets shot in the process and ends up in a coma.  When he finally wakes up (some odd months later–it wasn’t really specified), he discovers zombies have taken over–how this happened is not yet clear.  He makes his way home and discovers that his wife and son are no longer there.  As he wandered around the deserted neighborhood (save for a few dead bodies here & there–some even moving), he meets Morgan and his son Duane–who initially thought he was a zombie so he whacked him on the head with a shovel and he passes out.  When he woke up for the 2nd time that day he tells them he’s human and gets a crash course on what’s been happening.  After regaining some of his strength back, he leaves Morgan and Duane to search for his wife and son.

There’s a real “movie feel” when you watch this show.  I guess that’s part of the reason why it’s so damn creepy.  The weird thing was: I found it scary and yet I couldn’t stop myself from watching it.  Yes, and being the coward that I am, I was watching it (peeking more like!) with one hand over my eyes and fingers slightly apart.  I’m pretty sure though that I’ll be tuning in again this friday to creep myself out again.  I want to root for Deputy Rick.  I want him to reunite with his family (who as of now, I’m happy to report, are still alive and in hiding somewhere).  I want him to kick some zombie @ss!

There’s just something about the horror genre that makes you wanna look…even if you try hard not to.

 

Leave a Reply

