Musings from the Mosh Pit…

Thoughts. Tales. Travels. Whatever.

Beautiful A.N.Jell August 27, 2010

A while back I wrote about “Personal Preference”, Lee Min Ho’s last drama.  After going gaga over that series, I am now taking a ride on a new drama train…He’s Beautiful!

He’s Beautiful or You’re Beautiful (the title really depends on where you’re watching it from) is a Korean drama which ran from Oct. 07 to Nov. 26, 2009.  It is the story of A.N.Jell, a 3 member band headed by Hwang Tae Kyung (played by the…ehem…beautiful Jang Geun Suk), who despite being popular, is currently experiencing a career stand still.  Their record company decides to hold auditions for a 4th member and Go Mi-Nam successfully clinches the spot.  Unfortunately due to a botched medical procedure, he needed to fly to the US to be treated and to recuperate.  With the band’s latest album release being hotly anticipated by the fans and the press (and with no new vocalist to show for), their manager’s only hope is Go Min-Nyu, Mi-Nam’s fraternal twin sister.  Despite being a novice (think of her as a “sister in training”), their manager begs Min-Nyu to take her brother’s place.  Of course she refuses at first but realizing that she doesn’t want to jeopardize her brother’s dream, she eventually conceeds.

So, she poses as her brother Mi-Nam, with only the manager & the band’s stylist being fully aware of her true identity. Everything seemed to be going their way…that is until she got drunk at one of the band’s after parties. And have I mentioned that she starts living with the rest of the band as well? It’s not easy playing a dude when you have to play it 24/7 (insert image of Robert Downey Jr. here from Tropic Thunder: “I’m a dude, playing a dude, disguised as another dude!”)…it’s especially hard for her to do it in front of the band members–Shin Woo, who is always nice & caring towards her; Jeremy, who’s always suspicious of her actions and Tae Kyung, who has hated her guts from the very beginning.

And so begins the comical & romantic & dramatic adventures of “Mi-Nam”…and Tae Kyung…and Shin Woo…hay…this brings back all my giddy & kilig Boys Over Flowers/Hana Yori Dango feelings! Yes, I know, I know…the series technically ended over 9 months ago & I’ve only started seeing it on the Kapamilya network…but better late than never I say!  And since I’m not really particular with spoilers, I’ve already watched future episodes & even the finale on good ‘ol youtube & mysoju.com!

This surely deserves another excursion to *cough*recto*cough!

And now, let me leave you with a music video from Jang Geun Suk…*swoon*

video courtesy of youtube

 

6 Responses to “Beautiful A.N.Jell”

  1. Jenieros Says:

    My sister’s also a big fan of He’s Beautiful, AN Jell, Lee Min Ho, and Kpop in general. She’s playing the OST on repeat for days and days and days. Currently she’s also hooked with SHInee. 😛

    • fizzywoohoo Says:

      Thanks for visiting! I find it amazing how all these Korean actors and dramas and Kpop resonate with a lot of people even if they don’t really understand a word of what they are saying. I’ve only been hooked since last december so I still have a lot to discover. I’ll try and check out shinee too…but Super Junior is the one I’m really listening to now. =)

  2. Elysium Says:

    Hi!
    I was thinking about creating a blog, but wanted to see some people’s before I started. I immediately came upon yours, which I couldn’t pass due to the title. I am glad I looked around. There’s so much korean dramas and music I need to look into. I have some random Korean music I have found (I don’t even know who the artists are) and I love a good manhwa, but I will definitely be visiting your blog for things to explore.

    Thanks!

    • fizzywoohoo Says:

      Hi Elysium..thanks for visiting! Wow, I’m really honored with what you said about visiting my blog to discover on Korean stuff…to be quite honest, I’ve only started falling in love with Korean Dramas december of last year when an officemate introduced me to “Boys Over Flowers.” That was the first drama I really loved. I found out that it was a version of the Japanese story “Hana Yori Dango” and that Taiwan also made it’s own version of it called “Meteor Garden”….and that’s it…I started discovering stuff from just seeing BOF. When I started knowing who the actors were, I tried some of their other dramas too. Like the guy in BOF, Lee Min Ho, also has another series called “Personal Preference” which I also enjoyed. I’m sure you’ll like “He’s Beautiful” too if you decide to check it out.

      If you want to try watching them online, you can check out http://www.mysoju.com.

      As for Korean music…well, Kpop is really big nowadays and that’s what I listen to. I’m not really sure if you’re into that. I mean, for me, I really love rock but listening to kpop is really fun even though I can’t understand what they’re saying haha. =) If kpop interests you, try googling the blog “Nunas know best” and “Bunny Bissoux”–they’re done by the same person and is a huge fan of all things japanese and korean. =)

      If in case you do enjoy the dramas that I’ve suggested, let me know! =)

  3. princessclere Says:

    ang ganda ng hes beautiful

    • fizzywoohoo Says:

      Yes, ang ganda ng he’s beautiful no? Sa tv ang daming cut so it’s better if people can see the whole thing sana. I even heard may dvd director’s cut version sha na released earlier this year…it has more scenes with Jeremy and Shinwoo–and a total of 20 eps instead of 16.
      I liked all of them but shempre my favorite was Jang Geun Suk/Tae Kyung. I even bought myself a copy of Beethoven’s Virus! haha…but I’ll finish watching Oh My Lady first before BV. Thanks for visiting!
      ps: Gusto ko ng Pig-Rabbit! =)


Leave a Reply

