Musings from the Mosh Pit…

Thoughts. Tales. Travels. Whatever.

Woe to the booklover in me! June 5, 2010

Filed under: book me!,thoughts — fizzywoohoo @ 1:31 pm
Tags: , ,

I am so frustrated and disappointed with myself recently.  I could literally kick myself…I suck!

Hey wait…Before you think of me as some negative person, allow me to explain…It’s already June and to date, I’ve only read one measly book so far this year!  Argh!  This is so not me!  Oh and that one book I’ve read so far?  Took me three and a half months to finish!  How pathetic is that?!  (It’s just like when I read Jack Kerouac’s “On The Road” last year…that one took me four months to finish…but I had different reasons back then.  Anyway…)  I’ll have you know that for the whole month of January 2009, I had already finished 4 books!

I don’t know what’s wrong with me now.  Is it because of work?  Is it because I’m lazy?  I can’t pinpoint a particular reason.  It’s making me feel incomplete that I haven’t been reading…because I love to read!

Yesterday I googled http://www.scribd.com/doc/13927089/list-of-101-Books-to-Read-Before-You-Die and http://www.listology.com/list/1001-books-you-must-read-you-die –I printed out the list and crossed off those that I’ve already read.  Here’s my tally:

Out of the 101 list, I’ve read 12:

  1. Of Mice & Men – John Steinbeck
  2. Perfume – Patrick Suskind
  3. Atonement – Ian McEwan
  4. The Catcher In The Rye – J.D. Salinger
  5. Crime & Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevski
  6. Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov
  7. The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy – J.R.R. Tolkien
  8. Pride & Prejudice – Jane Austen
  9. Siddharta – Herman Hesse
  10. Trainspotting – Irvine Welsh
  11. The Unbearable Lightness Of Being – Milan Kundera
  12. Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte

Out of the 1001 list, I’ve read 23:

  1. Atonement
  2. Trainspotting
  3. Perfume
  4. The Unbearable Lightness Of Being
  5. Interview With A Vampire – Anne Rice
  6. On The Road – Jack Kerouac
  7. The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy
  8. Lolita
  9. The Catcher In The Rye
  10. Animal Farm – George Orwell
  11. The Little Prince – Antoine De Saint Exupery
  12. Of Mice & Men
  13. The Hobbit – J.R.R. Tolkien
  14. Siddharta
  15. Tess of D’Urbervilles – Thomas Hardy
  16. Picture Of Dorian Gray – Oscar Wilde
  17. Crime & Punishment
  18. House Of The Seven Gables – Nathaniel Hawthorne
  19. Wuthering Heights
  20. Northanger Abbey – Jane Austen
  21. Persuasion – Jane Austen
  22. Pride & Prejudice
  23. Sense & Sensibility – Jane Austen

Boy, I sure have a long way to go! Ok, I hope I can get out of my stupor very, very soon and start reading!  I’ve still got a few “pending” books at home so I’ll start with those first.  Has anyone read the works of Kazuo Ishigiro, Haruki Murakami or Kurt Vonnegut?  Their names always crop up on those lists so I’m curious as to how they write.

Oh, any suggestions on what titles I should read?  I’d love to hear them.

 

6 Responses to “Woe to the booklover in me!”

  1. Espresso Star Says:

    as for haruki… start with his ‘norwegian wood’… 😀

  2. ula Says:

    I haven’t even read half of the list… meron bang 101 ROMANCE/chick LIT -books to read before you die?!?! hahahaha

    btw… i borrowed a haruki once, but never read it hahahahaha

  3. fizzywoohoo Says:

    http://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/184753-100-hr-books-you-need-to-read-before-you-die

    Ula look o! I found a blog that has a list of historical romance books to read before you die. Of course, personal favorites na ito ng fellow fans like us. And check it out..we’ve read some of it na! =)

  4. psychic_knife Says:

    hi! i actually laud you that you still keep up with reading! i have not opened a non-work book in a year!

    check bradbury’s dandelion wine or fahrenheit 451. worth it!

  5. monica Says:

    hmmm..how about Pillars of the Earth? It’s by Ken Follett


Leave a Reply

