Musings from the Mosh Pit…

Thoughts. Tales. Travels. Whatever.

My week in a nutshell: The Good, The Bad, The Ugly and The..WTF?! May 29, 2010

It’s friday & this week has been filled with so many emotions & happenings it has tired me out.

First, The Good:

I started my new Koreanovela last week–Coffee Prince.  Sadly, the lead girl didn’t endear herself to me in the first 2 episodes, so I stopped.  Monday rolls around and I’ve decided to give episode 3 a go.  I’m happy to report that as of tonight, I’m already on episode 13! Love, love, love it! Lead girl and lead guy look so good together!

For those of you who don’t know, Coffee Prince is the story of Go Eun Chan, a poor girl who just happens to be mistaken for a guy all the time because of her short hair, baggy clothes and her habit of taking on any job (even the masculine kind) just so that she can support her family.  She meets Choi Han Gyul who, thinking she’s male, decides to hire her as his pretend gay lover to fend off the many women his grandmother orders him to date.  Money is money so she doesn’t refuse the offer and when he opens up his coffee shop called “Coffee Prince” (prince because he will only hire good looking males to attract the neighborhood’s largely female clientel), Go Eun Chan decides to keep up the act to secure a job as a barista/waiter.  You do know where this is going right?  Of course they fall in love and the madness ensues! (mental note: the songs they use on the show are pretty cool too!)

And then, The Bad:

RIP #2

A big blow to the rock/metal community…a big blow to Slipknot fans around the world…Paul Gray, #2, bassist for the band, was found dead in his hotel room in Iowa earlier this week.  I was shocked when Ava posted the news on my facebook wall.  Is this the end of Slipknot?  Good lord, they cancelled a European tour last year just because Joey Jordison (#1, the drummer) broke his leg!  What are they going to do now that Paul’s no longer around?

The Ugly:

My view from the floor...

Let it be known that I abhor public speaking. It was on wednesday when I was informed that I was going to participate in The Evil Empire’s Annual Stockholder’s Meeting.  I’m going to be one of those employees planted in the audience as a “stockholder” and I needed to deliver lines…using a microphone…in front of a theater full of strangers…did I mention that I was going to address The Chairman himself?!  Good grief.  Long story short, I was at work on thursday morning at 6:38am and it all went well.  We were done by 9:30am.  I got through my 2 lines just fine….though it all felt like an out of body experience.  It was all a blur.

Line #1: Mr. Chairman, I move that the Management meeting be noted and that the Audited Financial Statements for the year ending Dec. 31, 2009 be approved.

Line #2: I second the motion!

Check out the writings on my hand...and my teeny tiny kodigo!

Oh did I mention that I made a friend during the event? She’s the assistant of The Evil Empire’s Corp. Communications Dept. Head.  You might’ve seen him on tv.

Lastly…The WTF?!

On the same day as the Stockholder’s Meeting, I was informed by the Dept. Head, VYT, that my boss (the guy, CAG), will be transferred to the Finance Department effective June 01.  He will also be removed from the EXECOM (Executive Committee–that’s the top management).  I’m still going to retain my female boss, si RAF, and will be given another male boss to serve, si RLC.  The shit has finally hit the fan between VYT & CAG…they don’t get along you see.  Sus, I haven’t even worked for him for a year and this happens!  On one hand, he can be really nice, on the other hand he can be quite annoying especially when he’s cranky or is in a foul mood…but nobody’s perfect right?

I have mixed feelings on this one.  Frankly, I didn’t picture my life to be like this, 9 months into my new job.  I’m still going WTF?! actually.  Perhaps I should just view this as a new start.  A fresh change.  I’ll have a new boss, si RLC who is really good daw.  “Parang tatay” most people say.  I hope to be better at my work with this new arrangement. Lord have mercy.

 

One Response to “My week in a nutshell: The Good, The Bad, The Ugly and The..WTF?!”

  1. lanilakwatsera Says:

    ROFL on the kodigo! I had the misfortune of being a “planted stockholder” before when Metro Pacific had its Annual Stockholder meeting. And it was indeed a “shoot me now please or please let the floor swallow me whole” moment. So, the only thing I can say is “HAHAHAHAHA!”

    RIP for the death of the Slipknot bassist. The hubby is also despondent like you.


Leave a Reply

