Musings from the Mosh Pit…

Thoughts. Tales. Travels. Whatever.

You only live once May 11, 2010

Filed under: something about me,thoughts,whatever — fizzywoohoo @ 12:10 pm
Tags:

6:05pm. Saturday. Farmers Mall. Sitting on a monoblock chair while waiting for the anticipated mass to start. Armed with a brand spanking new notebook (a purple & gold one which was a  gift from Ava) and a new pen (one which I klepto-ed from my previous job), I began to think…what can I write about next?

I suddenly remembered an ad from a newspaper that I had cut out a few weeks back and tacked on my cubicle at work. It’s a single sentence which reads: YOU ONLY LIVE ONCE. I thought it was a pretty strong sentence. I cut it out because I felt that the universe was telling me something right then.

It got me thinking…I’ll only live once. We’ll all just have this life. No second chances. No repeats. No sequels. I think (or worry?) about the future like everyone else. You know how some people have bucket lists? Things they’d like to do in this life? While I applaud the idea, frankly, it also scares me. But I’m not planning on discussing my fears just now. Right now I’d like to share with you my unofficial bucket list…just a few things that I would like to do/see/accomplish/get in this life.

Here they are in no particular order:

  • Learn how to drive…again! (I still can’t get over scratching Sumi’s VW way back in college!)
  • Learn how to swim
  • Learn how to ride a bike
  • Learn a third language (right now I’m leaning towards Japanese! Hai!)
  • Visit a Japanese temple (in Japan of course!)
  • Visit the Great Wall of China
  • See the Eiffel Tower at night
  • Tour the Louvre
  • See Greece!
  • Visit Vatican City (& see Michaelangelo’s masterpiece!)
  • Visit the Taj Mahal
  • Ride the London Eye & ride a London Taxi!
  • See Big Ben
  • Spend New Year’s Eve in New York (Anderson Cooper included please!)
  • Get a tattoo (Design? Check! Body part? Check! Balls to do it? Not yet!)
  • Marry the love of my life and start my own family
  • Possibly name my children any of the following: Chloe, Makino, Darcy, David or Helena. (I have a list actually…)
  • Bungee Jump!
  • Zip Line!
  • Get drunk at least once
  • Have our creepy basement fixed
  • Organize our home library
  • Dance in the rain
  • Watch a sunset
  • Watch a sunrise
  • See U2 live
  • See Morrissey live! (Oh I’m sure this will bring me to tears!)
  • Stand in the front row of a Slipknot concert (I’m channeling all my positive thoughts on this one! Get ready Ava!)
  • See Noel Gallagher w/ Oasis (I don’t know how this will happen since Noel has already left the band!)
  • Have fireworks at my wedding (while U2’s “All I Want Is You” plays in the background)
  • Hold hands with someone I love (I always dream about this one)
  • Wear an all-out costume / Attend a costume party
  • Sing karaoke…again! (The first time wasn’t as painful as I thought it would be)
  • See a fortune teller
  • Play in the snow
  • Go Ice skating
  • Get a massage (Probably the easiest thing on this list and I can’t seem to do it!)
  • Because of my new addiction to koreanovelas & jdoramas—I’d like to see F4 (Taiwan), Arashi (MatsuJun!) and Rain (rrrrrrrraaaaaiiiinnnnn!!!!!!)
  • Watch Conan O’Brien live
  • Have my own room / space
  • Attend Comicon (& join my fellow geeks & freaks!)
  • Have photo taken while crossing Abbey Road
  • Watch a taping of “The Colbert Report” (Kris has already checked this off her list!)
  • Have a pet 
  • Learn how to read The Bible

I’m feeling good about this list & I’m sure I’ll add more things in the future. Nothing seems impossible when you think positively about things. I know the Universe is listening & I can’t wait to start!

So, what’s on your list?

 

4 Responses to “You only live once”

  1. ula Says:

    FIZZ?!?!?! you haven’t had a massage yet?!?! naku, there are so many home service masahitas now! start with that! and its cheap pa!

    btw… i like the name darcy too! 🙂

    oh, and what’s on my list…. i don’t know! haven’t really thought about it!

  2. fizzywoohoo Says:

    ula! mejo nagiipon pa ako ng tapang in getting a massage…i’m ticklish eh! (eh pano na yan when….hehehe!)

    darcy is nice no? shempre, thanks to jane austen and colin firth yan!

  3. drmazharkhan Says:

    I really like the post. I agree. No repeats, no sequels. I’ll try making it a bit more melancholy. An adult life span has come down to 60-65 years. I am thirty now. That means I’ve already lived half my life. Another half to go. OMG. Where’s my bucket list.

    A few things that I wish to do:
    Visit Afganistan.
    Try LSD
    Go on a 2 month trek trip to north east India
    Train to sing
    Perform Salsa with a group.

    …Will think of more.

    Keep posting. I’ll visit again.

    And do comment on the short stories that I’ve been scribbling on my blog. Ciao.

    • fizzywoohoo Says:

      Hi there! Thanks for visiting! I’m in my thirties as well…and I still haven’t crossed out a single thing on that list. Guess we better start soon huh? I have a friend who is half indian…and he went to spend time with his dad 2 years ago there. He says it was one of the most amazing things he’s ever experienced.
      Thanks again!


Leave a Reply

