Musings from the Mosh Pit…

Thoughts. Tales. Travels. Whatever.

May 10, 2010 May 11, 2010

Filed under: tales,whatever — fizzywoohoo @ 12:14 pm

Today was a historic day. The Philippines had it’s first ever automated elections. Honestly, I’ve been waiting for this day to come. I couldn’t bear thinking that up until 4 years ago, we were still counting ballots as if we’re electing class officers in school. I’d really like to see this country move forward and this is a step towards that direction.

My family and I arrived at Miriam Grade School a little before 7am. There was already a line but it was a tolerable one. Everything was pretty relaxed at first but things started to get a little heated when they had problems organizing the lines/voters entering the MMJ court. (POP QUIZ! What does MMJ mean again?) Some folks were pissed. Some were screaming and arguing. Some were complaining. And poor little Fizz kept getting squished. Because of the confusion, I wasn’t able to get in at the same time as my family. For some reason, I’m the only one whose precinct number was different. I was afraid that I’d be the last one to finish among all of us. When I finally got to my cluster (no. 4), I was shocked but surprisingly pleased  to find that our group was well organized and that the officers were super efficient. I was done in no time! As I made my way to find mi familia, I was surprised to discover that none of them were done! Tsk. Tsk. Tsk. Hooray for cluster no. 4! Boo to cluster no. 5!

Happy though I am with the ease of my voting experience, it can’t be helped that there were others who weren’t as lucky as I was. There were so many problems ranging from the very small (disorganized lines) to the very large (violence in some parts of Mindanao). I hope that this will not discourage Filipinos from seeing the good side of automated voting. This is our first time and things are bound to be imperfect. Hopefully in the next elections, we’d have learned from our mistakes & improved on our faults.

May this be the start towards a better Philippines.

Oh and just in case you were wondering…I voted a fellow La Sallian for President and an Atenean for Vice President.

ps: Much as I’d like to write more “political stuff” in this post…I simply can’t. I hate politics…especially, Philippine politics. I just wanted to write about my experience today.

 

2 Responses to “May 10, 2010”

  1. gigay Says:

    kapatid… sino yung VP na Atenista? I know who the President from La Salle… and I voted for him too… sadly… he lost….

  2. fizzywoohoo Says:

    kapatid…i think i may have made a mistake in claiming he’s atenean…i’m not sure eh. but i voted gibo-mar. i know mar was educated in the states…not sure if he studied here too.


Leave a Reply

