Musings from the Mosh Pit…

Thoughts. Tales. Travels. Whatever.

Salamat…Jett Pangan May 3, 2010

Filed under: music,rock on!,tales — fizzywoohoo @ 12:18 pm
Tags: , ,

A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away…I fell in love with my first pinoy rock band. The year was 1989 (I was in 7th grade). The Album was called “Beyond the Bend.”  And that band was The Dawn.

The album

I can still recall how much this album meant to me and how often I listened to it using my now extinct casette player. Apart from “Salamat”, my other favorite song on the record was “Little Paradise”. At that time, their line up was composed of Jett, JB Leonor, Carlos Balcells & Atsushi Matsuura. I’ve always wanted to see them live…but I was young then and going to gigs was out of the question. Years have passed and I’ve liked other pinoy bands after The Dawn but they’ve always held a special place in my heart.

Fast forward to a few weeks ago when my sister told me that her co-teacher (“Teacher Diane” – who also sings in a band) will be performing at a gig with Jett Pangan. She asked me if I’d like to have anything signed. I immediately thought of my casette tape and frantically searched for it. A couple of days later, my sister happily hands over the signed album cover. Lookey, lookey! He even wrote down my name!

Fizz! Rock and Roll!

I asked my sister if her co-teacher had any amusing story to tell to go with the autograph…and there was! The conversation between her and Jett went something like this:

Teacher Diane: Sir Jett! Favor naman o? Can you sign this please for 2 of my friends?

Jett Pangan: Sure!

Teacher Diane hands a cd cover first and he signs it.

Teacher Diane: This one is from my friend’s sister. Her name is Fizz & she’s a long time fan. (she then proceeds to hand over my casette cover)

Jett Pangan: Wow, classic!

So, there you go kids. In my own twisted little mind, I can say that Jett Pangan knows I exist. Salamat to JB, Carlos, Atsushi & Jett.

Thank you for being a part of the soundtrack of my youth.

 

5 Responses to “Salamat…Jett Pangan”

  1. ula Says:

    BWAHAHAHAHAHA classic indeed!!! another kilig moment for the books!

  2. ula Says:

    you should’ve gotten Manuels during my wedding!! hahaha the friend of Ron got his autograph, and you know what he wrote?! : “basti supot!” ahahhahahaha

  3. Hi, this is Atsushi Matsuura and I played on that “cassette tape”.

    Please visit me at http://www.matsuura.ph.


Leave a Reply

